Contact us: +61 8 8303 0961
Office for Women

South Australian Women’s Honour Roll

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people — please be aware this website may contain names, images and voices of deceased persons.

The South Australian Women's Honour Roll is an important part of an ongoing strategy to increase formal recognition of women who contribute to the South Australian community. Held biennially, the Honour Roll acknowledges and celebrates the diversity of women in our community and their commitment to effecting change to ensure that we live in a safer and more inclusive society.

2019 Women's Honour Roll

In 2019, we’re acknowledging South Australian women’s achievements as we commemorate the 125th anniversary of women’s suffrage in South Australia.

Any woman who deserves recognition (including those deceased) can be nominated and women may nominate themselves. Nominees must currently live in South Australia and cannot be current members of parliament.

Nominations are assessed by a panel of community members, who recommend which women should be inducted to the Honour Roll.

Nominate a woman for the 2019 Women's Honour Roll

Printable version of the 2019 nomination form (PDF 273.3 KB)

Nomination period extended! Nominations now close on Wednesday 31 July 2019 at 5.00 pm.

Previous Honour Roll inductees and nominees

The International Women's Day Committee (SA) Inc developed the first Honour Roll for South Australian Women (PDF 5.0 MB) in 2001.

Summary list of nominees

SA Women's Honour Roll nominees 2008 to 2017 (PDF 72.7 KB)

SA Australian of the Year

Outstanding women included in the SA Women's Honour Roll are nominated for the Australian of the Year Awards each year to provide national recognition for the contribution they make to the community.

  • Vicky Welgraven, was a finalist in the SA Australian of the Year 2019 category and was included in the Honour Roll in 2015. Vicky was recognised for her advocacy for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women and activism to end domestic and family violence.
  • Patricia Buckskin PSM, was awarded the 2017 SA Senior Australian of the Year award and was included in the Honour Roll in 2015. Patricia was recognised for her lifelong passion for Aboriginal education and her instrumental role in setting up the Kaurna Plains Aboriginal School.
  • Lavene Ngatokorua, a Davenport community champion inducted into the SA Women's Honour Roll in 2015, was a finalist in the South Australian Australia's Local Hero 2016 category.
  • Dr Gill Hicks MBE, was awarded the 2015 SA Australian of the Year award and added to the Honour Roll in the same year. Gill was recognised for her work as founder of M.A.D. for Peace and her work to end violent extremism.
  • Dr Felicity-ann Lewis, winner of South Australia's Australian of the Year Award 2014, was included in the SA Women's Honour Roll in 2008. Felicity-ann won the 2014 award in recognition of her passion for creating a better, healthier and more inclusive Australia.

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS [sm v5.4.7.1] .

Provided by:
Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
Last Updated:
16 May 2017
Printed on:
24 Jul 2019
The Office for Women website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016