Contact us: +61 8 8303 0961
Office for Women

125th Anniversary of Women's Suffrage

On 18 December 2019 we commemorated the 125th anniversary of the landmark legislation that enabled women in South Australia – for the first time anywhere in Australia – to vote in general elections, AND to stand as members of Parliament.

This incredible achievement was the end result of years of campaigning, letter writing, signature gathering and lobbying by men and women in the South Australian community that put their passion into action.

Gaining the vote was a huge step towards gender equality in South Australia, and meant that women could participate in public life by having their say at general elections.


The theme for the 125th anniversary Their triumph, our motivation recognises how the extraordinary efforts of the suffragists in the late 19th and early 20th century drive our continued efforts in working towards gender equality.

This theme and accompanying graphic is inspired by the design created by our competition winner Jayne Arnott.

The official colours of the 125th anniversary commemoration campaign are gold and purple.

Golden yellow symbolising enlightenment, illumination and intellect, is historically associated with the suffragist movement in South Australia. Its origin is not known, but a gold ribbon tied up the great petition urging Parliament to give women the vote.

Purple symbolises reverence and dignity, and was associated with the British suffragette struggle of the early 20th century.

Community grants

Congratulations to the 28 organisations who received grants to commemorate the 125th anniversary of women’s suffrage in South Australia. View a list of the successful applicants and their projects 


We are so excited to collaborate with you on commemorating the incredible anniversary of the campaign for women's votes in South Australia and would love to have your input!

The Office for Women has set up a Pinterest board with a whole range of interesting pins relating to South Australian women's suffrage. Have we missed anything?

Contribute to our Pinterest board on SA women's suffrage!

More information

Below are links to some pages we have put together that provide some background and detail about how the vote was achieved for SA women, and some of the people that were involved.

When we reflect upon our history and both the imperative and impact of women being able to vote and be heard, we need to acknowledge the injustice, pain and suffering felt by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women in the past and still today.

Page last updated : 05 Mar 2021

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .

Provided by:
Department of Human Services
Last Updated:
02 Mar 2021
Printed on:
29 Sep 2022
The Office for Women website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016