Contact us: +61 8 8303 0961
Office for Women

Safety Hubs Election Commitment - First safety hub 'The Haven' launched in Murray Bridge

Safety hubs election commitment

Services are being established under the government’s safety hubs election commitment from August 2019 to June 2021, to help improve the safety of women and their children experiencing (or at risk of) domestic, family or sexual violence.

Each location will provide a safe local place where women can speak confidentially to trained workers or volunteers, who can provide information, support, and referrals to appropriate services.

Different types of services will be established - which type is in a region depends on the needs of the community. They may be:

  • located within a universal service such as a community or childcare centre, or health service
  • a stand-alone centre with different services available within it, such as housing, child and family services, counselling, financial, and legal support
  • a centrally located service that provides outreach services to surrounding communities.

The location of each service, and identifying what services are needed for each region, have been driven by feedback from six domestic violence roundtable forums held across South Australia in 2018-19, as well as ongoing consultation with local service providers.

First safety hub launch - The Haven

The Haven is the first site established under the government’s safety hub election commitment. The Haven launched today in the Murray and Mallee region in Murray Bridge. The Haven is a partnership between the Office for Women, the Murray Bridge Community Centre and local community organisations.

The Haven – Murray Bridge

Provided by the Women’s Information Service

Murray Bridge Community Centre
Phone: 0402 889 542

Opening hours

Monday and Friday: 9am to 4pm
Tuesday and Thursday: 12.30pm to 4pm
Wednesday: 9am to 12.30pm

For further information about services provided by The Haven, see the Women’s Information Service.

Safety hub region

Opening date

1. Adelaide Hills

2. Southern Adelaide

3. Northern Adelaide and Barossa, Light and Lower North

4. Eyre and Western

5. Limestone Coast


6. Far North

7. Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island

8. Yorke and Mid North


State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS[sm v5.4.7.1] .

Provided by:
Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
Last Updated:
16 May 2017
Printed on:
14 Dec 2019
The Office for Women website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016